• Home »
  • MSPB Calls for Excellence in Government Award Nominations

News MSPB Calls for Excellence in Government Award Nominations

Created On: 11/30/2017 11:11:20 AM

The Mississippi State Personnel Board is now accepting nominations for the 2018 Excellence in Government Awards.  MSPB was authorized by the Mississippi Legislature to establish the Excellence in Government Awards program, and the inaugural award was given in 2012 by Governor Phil Bryant to encourage the development of innovative systems of public administration.  Each year, these awards recognize “excellence and innovation in the management of administrative procedures which increase the quality of public service at the state, district and local government levels.”

A maximum of two individuals or two groups of individuals will be publicly recognized. One shall be the recipient of the Award for Excellence in State Government, and one shall be the recipient of the Award for Excellence in Local and District Government.  Nominations will be received until February 1, 2018.

Previous recipients include:

State: Samantha Atkinson, Office of the State Auditor
Local/District: Dr. Raj Shaunak, East Mississippi Community College

State: Laura Jackson, Department of Finance and Administration
Local/District: City of Horn Lake Fire Department

State: Mississippi Development Authority Disaster Recovery Division
Local/District: Don Buffum, Mississippi State University

State: Electronic Government Oversight Committee
Local/District: Walter W. Osborne, Jr., City of Vicksburg

State: Randy Reeves, Mississippi State Veterans Affairs Board

State: Trudy Fisher and Terri Torrence, Department of Environmental Quality
Local/District: Dr. Clyde Muse, Hinds Community College

Click here to download a nomination form.

Copyright © Mississippi State Personnel Board - 210 East Capitol Street, Suite 800 Jackson, Mississippi 39201
Phone (601) 359-1406 Fax (601) 576-2532