• Home »
  • 2022 Excellence in Government Awards Nominations - Due September 1

News 2022 Excellence in Government Awards Nominations - Due September 1

Created On: 7/13/2022 1:40:07 PM

The Mississippi State Personnel Board will accept nominations for the 2022 Excellence in Government Awards until September 1, 2022. MSPB was authorized by the Mississippi Legislature to establish the Excellence in Government Awards program, and the inaugural award was given in 2012 to encourage the development of innovative systems of public administration. Each year, these awards recognize “excellence and innovation in the management of administrative procedures which increase the quality of public service at the state, district and local government levels.”

A maximum of two individuals or two groups of individuals will be publicly recognized. One shall be the recipient of the Award for Excellence in State Government, and one shall be the recipient of the Award for Excellence in Local and District Government.

For a copy of the nomination form, click here.

Previous recipients include:

State: Timothy Rush, Department of Employment Security
Local: Daniel McKinney, City of Saltillo

State: Jeworski "Jay" Mallet, Department of Corrections
Local/District: Russel James, City of Richland

State: Sam Howell, Crime Lab
Local/District: Wayne E. Miller, P.E., City of Gulfport

State: Lucy Allen, Department of Archives and History
Local/District: Dr. Mimmo Parisi, Mississippi State University

State: Samantha Atkinson, Office of the State Auditor
Local/District: Dr. Raj Shaunak, East Mississippi Community College

State: Laura Jackson, Department of Finance and Administration
Local/District: City of Horn Lake Fire Department

State: Mississippi Development Authority Disaster Recovery Division
Local/District: Don Buffum, Mississippi State University

State: Electronic Government Oversight Committee
Local/District: Walter W. Osborne, Jr., City of Vicksburg

State: Randy Reeves, Mississippi State Veterans Affairs Board

State: Trudy Fisher and Terri Torrence, Department of Environmental Quality
Local/District: Dr. Clyde Muse, Hinds Community College

Copyright © Mississippi State Personnel Board - 210 East Capitol Street, Suite 800 Jackson, Mississippi 39201
Phone (601) 359-1406 Fax (601) 488-2903